Tillis Announces $238 Million in Funding to Assist North Carolina’s Airports Amid the Coronavirus Pandemic

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) announced the U.S. Department of Transportation is awarding $238.7 million to North Carolina’s airports to assist continued operations and save workers’ jobs during the coronavirus pandemic. The funding comes from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act that was supported by Senator Tillis.

“North Carolina’s airports have seen a dramatic decrease in passenger travel due to COVID-19. This unprecedented travel reduction has drastically impacted airport revenues putting operations and jobs on the line,” said Senator Tillis. “The $238 million in CARES Act funding for North Carolina will help ensure airports across the state have the resources necessary to maintain operations and payroll as we continue to work together to get through this crisis.”

This funding will support continuing operations and replace lost revenue resulting from the sharp decline in passenger traffic and other airport business due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. The funds are available for airport capital expenditures, airport operating expenses including payroll and utilities, and airport debt payments.

A breakdown of the funds distributed to North Carolina airports is below.

Charlotte Charlotte/Douglas International CLT $135,568,960
Raleigh Raleigh-Durham International RDU $49,591,593
Wilmington Wilmington International ILM $19,841,323
New Bern Coastal Carolina Regional EWN $18,670,874
Greenville Pitt-Greenville PGV $18,067,663
Greensboro Piedmont Triad International GSO $16,416,302
Asheville Asheville Regional AVL $14,409,270
Jacksonville Albert J Ellis OAJ $3,257,082
Fayetteville Fayetteville Regional/Grannis Field FAY $2,968,903
Concord Concord-Padgett Regional JQF $2,149,846
Hickory Hickory Regional HKY $157,000
Statesville Statesville Regional SVH $157,000
Winston-Salem Smith Reynolds INT $157,000
Beaufort Michael J Smith Field MRH $69,000
Burlington Burlington-Alamance Regional BUY $69,000
Erwin Harnett Regional Jetport HRJ $69,000
Goldsboro Wayne Executive Jetport GWW $69,000
Kinston Kinston Regional Jetport at Stallings Field ISO $69,000
Lenoir Foothills Regional MRN $69,000
Lexington Davidson County EXX $69,000
Louisburg Triangle North Executive LHZ $69,000
Manteo Dare County Regional MQI $69,000
Monroe Charlotte-Monroe Executive EQY $69,000
North Wilkesboro Wilkes County UKF $69,000
Rocky Mount Rocky Mount-Wilson Regional RWI $69,000
Rutherfordton Rutherford County-Marchman Field FQD $69,000
Salisbury Mid-Carolina Regional RUQ $69,000
Sanford Raleigh Exec Jetport at Sanford-Lee County TTA $69,000
Smithfield Johnston Regional JNX $69,000
Southern Pines Moore County SOP $69,000
Southport Cape Fear Regional Jetport/Howie Franklin F SUT $69,000
Albemarle Stanly County VUJ $30,000
Andrews Western Carolina Regional RHP $30,000
Asheboro Asheboro Regional HBI $30,000
Clinton Clinton-Sampson County CTZ $30,000
Currituck Currituck County Regional ONX $30,000
Edenton Northeastern Regional EDE $30,000
Elizabeth City Elizabeth City CG Air Station/Regional ECG $30,000
Elizabethtown Curtis L Brown Jr Field EYF $30,000
Elkin Elkin Municipal ZEF $30,000
Franklin Macon County 1A5 $30,000
Gastonia Gastonia Municipal AKH $30,000
Jefferson Ashe County GEV $30,000
Kenansville Duplin County DPL $30,000
Lincolnton Lincolnton-Lincoln County Regional IPJ $30,000
Lumberton Lumberton Regional LBT $30,000
Mount Airy Mount Airy/Surry County MWK $30,000
Oxford Henderson-Oxford HNZ $30,000
Reidsville Rockingham County Nc Shiloh SIF $30,000
Roanoke Rapids Halifax-Northampton Regional IXA $30,000
Roxboro Raleigh Regional at Person County TDF $30,000
Shelby Shelby-Cleveland County Regional EHO $30,000
Siler City Siler City Municipal SCR $30,000
Spruce Pine Avery County/Morrison Field/ 7A8 $30,000
Wadesboro Anson County – Jeff Cloud Field AFP $30,000
Wallace Henderson Field ACZ $30,000
Washington Washington-Warren OCW $30,000
Whiteville Columbus County Municipal CPC $30,000
Ahoskie Tri-County ASJ $20,000
Engelhard Hyde County 7W6 $20,000
Hatteras Billy Mitchell HSE $20,000
Kill Devil Hills First Flight FFA $20,000
Mount Olive Mount Olive Municipal W40 $20,000
Ocean Isle Beach Odell Williamson Municipal 60J $20,000
Ocracoke Ocracoke Island W95 $20,000
Plymouth Plymouth Municipal PMZ $20,000
Rockingham Richmond County RCZ $20,000
Star Montgomery County 43A $20,000
Sylva Jackson County 24A $20,000
Williamston Martin County MCZ $20,000
Maxton Laurinburg-Maxton MEB $1,000
Tarboro Tarboro-Edgecombe ETC $1,000