Mitchell students honored


Statesville, NC – Mitchell Community College students were recently recognized for a range of achievements 2019-2020 academic year. Awards included:

Club and Organization Awards  

Student Leadership Award – Melinda Hill

Huskins Library Award – Hailey Massey, Andrew Parks

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer Award–President – Cristina Jacobs

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer Award–VP of Fellowship – Hailey Haas

Outstanding Phi Theta Kappa Officer Award–VP of Leadership – Peyton Graham

Academic Awards 2019-2020

Outstanding Accounting and Finance Student – Carlton Jones

Business Student of the Year Award – Ashley Reynaud

Excellence in Digital Media Technology – Elliot Hand-Thoennes

Human Services Technology Academic Award – Samantha Jones

Information Technology­–Networking Outstanding Graduate – Lucas Enerson, Roland Estep

Information Technology–Software Development Award – Robbins Guill, Liam McGarrigle

Excellence in Mathematics – Erick Boniface, Jared Vanerem

Excellence in Music – Justin Fox, Brady Overcash, Tyler Selby

Academic Achievement–Nursing First Year ­– Koralys Rodriguez

Academic Achievement–Nursing Second Year ­– Marissa Goldsword

Excellence in Physics – Gerard Herboso, Harrison Kendall

Academic Achievement in Psychology – Haven Tomel

Other Academic and Community Honors

Graduation Marshals – Dana Beckham, Tiara Byerly, Donovan Xavier Cross, Jessica Angelic Davidson, Sarah Dolan, Angelia Gail Eller, Allison Joy Eudy, Gracie Goodman, Luke Barry Gorman, Isabella Marie Hamby, Linda Renee Kelly, Candace Noelle Litton, Julia Elizabeth McClain, Erica A. Miller, Alisha Ann Perrow, Rigoberto Marulanda Salas, Maggie Selman, Elizabeth Selves, Muskan Shakir, Erin A. Sipes, Kelsey Brianne Sipes, Brooklynne Smith, Bryan Arturo Reyes, Brittany Wardrip, Carleigh Zimmek

All-USA Community College Academic Team Nominee Recognition –  Cristina Jacobs

Viola Parker Diversity Award – Victor Jesus Pavon

For full awards information including photos, please visit

Mitchell Community College serves 9,000 students annually through a variety of curriculum, continuing education and workforce development programs. With campuses in Statesville and Mooresville, Mitchell offers quality, affordable education options to residents of Iredell County and the surrounding area. For more information, visit or call (704) 878-3200 (Statesville Campus) or (704) 663-1923 (Mooresville Campus).

Author: Margaret Beveridge