Mitchell College honors employees for their service


Pictured Above: 2019 R.D. Grier Excellence in Education award winners (L-R) Beverly Rufty, Keith Miller, Nydia Ferral, Christa Cowan (not pictured: Marcella James) Picture courtesy of Mitchell Community College


Statesville, NC – The following Mitchell employees were honored at the College’s Opening Day assembly on Monday, August 5, 2019:

5 Years of Service

Roy Davidson, Valerie Doig, Nydia Ferral, Kenya Goldsberry, Louis Guy, Sally Johnson, Anita Kessler, Al Lofland, Amy Money, Amanda Moose, Barbara Myers, Christina Owen, Amy Poirier, Gwen Ramirez, Maira Rios, Everette Steele, Megan Suber, Clay Tallman, Jamie Vance

10 Years of Service

Marc Davis, Donna Dezern, Toni Dimella, Sandra Landry, Jeanne Miller, Tessa Townsend, Lee Troutman

15 Years of Service

Sally Dellinger, Barbara Dobbins, Mark Niswonger, Pam Robinson, Charles Shuford, Lee Jan Waddell, Loraine Watt, Ann Wright

20 Years of Service

Jeff Benfield, Christina Brown, Joyce Chambers, Tammy Rackley, Donna Worrell

30 Years of Service

Nancy Fields

40 Years of Service

Carolyn Gray

R.D. Grier Excellence in Education

Keith Miller (Faculty); Christa Cowan (Adjunct Faculty); Beverly Rufty (Professional/Para-Professional/Technical); Nydia Ferral (Support Staff); Marcella James (Facilities Staff)

In 1986, the Fanjoy family established the R.D. Grier Excellence in Education Award in honor of R. D. Grier’s devotion and contribution to the longevity of Mitchell Community College. Mr. Grier, before his death in 1993 at the age of 104, tirelessly served for many years as a charter member and chair of the Mitchell College Foundation. Earnings from the Grier Excellence in Education Endowment, with support from the Board of Trustees, make it possible for the College to honor outstanding members of its staff each year for exemplary service in the categories of Faculty, Adjunct Faculty, Professional/Para-Professional/Technical Staff, Support Staff, and Facilities Staff.

Mitchell Community College serves 10,000 students annually through a variety of curriculum, continuing education and workforce development programs. With campuses in Statesville and Mooresville, Mitchell offers quality, affordable education options to residents of Iredell County and the surrounding area. For more information, visit or call (704) 878-3200 (Statesville Campus) or (704) 663-1923 (Mooresville Campus).

This press release appears as received from Mitchell Community College with the exception of page/text/space/paragraph/general formatting details. Picture placement also excluded. All pictures included with original release may not be shown here. Separate reports contained within the same press release may have also been removed. Additionally, the different pieces of the press release may have been re-arranged. This press release was posted at after being received from the agency listed. Article title and picture captions may, or may not be, part of the press release. This information does, however, reflect the information received from Mitchell Community College.